Everyone has their story to tell.

I watched a school film festival in Colegio de San Juan de Letran – Calamba. My love for films and documentaries made me and a support to a friend who was part of it. I want to break down the documentaries and films shown at “Sining Siwalat” but I’m n professional but again, I love movies and documentaries so why not and write about it. Get bored. (This will just be for documentaries. I find it very long if the films will be included in one article.)

Disclaimer: THIS IS PURELY MY PERSONAL OPINION AND REALIZATIONS. NOT A PRO BUT WANT TO BE ONE.

  1. Aragonite

I failed to start this documentary but what caught me even though I just saw midway is that the fact that the people who made this gave the audience a glimpse of what art is supposed to be. I love the fact that they featured a Filipino artist who found his success abroad. Yes we all know about Luna, Abueva, Cabrera, but does our generation know who Edd Aragon is? I also admire when the former NCCA Commissioner said something about art being the soul of our culture and the sad truth about artists going abroad just to be recognized. This is where our nationalism enters. The moment we support and recognize our own artists, in any genre, does not need to go abroad to be recognized, international media will go to the Philippines and we let them recognize us.

  1. Lakbay Silo

A local story of a puto vendor may be odd for some but not for me. Yes, it started as odd because I asked myself the question why, but as the story continues on I said to myself that, “That is the main point, everyone has their own story worth telling, this is the perfect example for that one.” Yes, I was right, I was struck when the vendor said that even with a degree she chose to sell for a living and the most admirable thing she said is that she does not care if her children sell rice cakes also for a living when the time comes. This story gives us the importance of education and it does not matter how small or big your job is, it is far more important on why and how you do it.

  1. Buhay sa Hukay

Buhay sa Hukay is an documentary full of information. A bold story from the production giving us a point of view of what it’s like working in the cemetery, not much of excitement but what I like with this one is the boldness of shots. College students making this kind of documentaries made a bold statement: No story is too big or too small to tell.

  1. Bahay ni Maria

This documentary, like Buhay sa Hukay, is full of information. Introducing a place where old people are being taken care of. This documentary for me says something about volunteerism especially when the caretaker said that even though there is no monetary value on what he is doing the happiness in doing it is more than enough. Another thing that I realized while watching this would be, nuns will always be of service to us. As we all know that the Roman Catholic Church has been the oldest and largest charitable institution and Bahay ni Maria is a great example of this one, that it is not just through orphanages but also with old people. Lastly, our elders have a lot of story to tell. Now, I challenge you to visit Bahay ni Maria and experience it yourself (You can collaborate with us and contact me)

  1. Butil

Butil for me is like watching a documentary film in television (No bias). I love the fact that it started with us, hearing natural sounds in the field. The rawness of the introduction gave an impression to the audience that what we will see would also be raw. I also like that they incorporate statistics showing how much rice we are wasting. In the documentary, it is stated that “Rice is life”, and an anecdote like this would help us realize the value of little things, as little as a grain of rice. Bonus: I love that what they did with the closing song is an original one, it makes the story more personal as rice and farmers have personal attachment to us, Filipinos.

  1. Kubling Ngiti

Starting with a narration of facial expressions kind of set the tone of how deep or how hard is it for a person to not even smile. I always love seeing people smile and to be honest this documentary opened my mind that there is such disability of someone that cannot smile or even express themselves through facial expressions. This is a mind opener and also a story of acceptance, especially when the mother went to school and to let the students look at small mirrors and explain the state of her child. You can see the love and hurt of the mother in that instance. The innocence of a child, even without a smile, can bring joy to anyone.

(Posters taken from Sining Siwalat Facebook page. Credits to the owners)

Leave a Reply

