After all, #LoveWins

This is my take on Manny Pacquiao’s statement on LGBT and the response of notable personalities in our country regarding the issue. I will write this in English and Tagalog, to express myself fully, but I will try to write this just in English. (I will try. HAHA!)

Pacquiao’s statement is clearly a shot to the LGBT community in general and the response for me is normal. It is normal to make a statement out of their belief and it is for me normal to defend if you are offended. What went wrong? It opened a can of worms. It opened a lot of discussions and arguments that leads to all negative and positive responses based on their own personal opinion and everyone else is now either on Manny’s side or the LGBT side. Shouldn’t we just pick between #TeamIronMan or #TeamCap? It makes us, Filipinos, divided with one issue and I even saw on twitter friends unfriending friends in facebook because they are pro-Manny. Isn’t it ironic that we are trying to defend a community here and human rights but we are not uniting? As said in a movie, “The time we finish fighting for each other, that is the time we lose our humanity…”

But let all get things straight. Why the statement is strong: He called (not directly) the LGBT community: “Masahol pa sa hayop”. The statement goes like, wala kang makikitang hayop na nag aano na lalaki sa lalaki tapos babae sa babae, eh kung tao pa kaya, eh di mas masahol pa sa hayop. Why is it so strong? People got offended. LGBT Community got offended and supporters. The reaction was from Vice Ganda, and clearly a statement not just from him, it is reflecting the reaction in their community.

The issue did not end by Manny apologizing and Vice accepting the apology, rather the issue grew bigger and now this is my take as a Catholic, a servant leader, and as an individual. If you are a gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, and you are seeking for God, as Pope Francis said, “Who am I to judge?” Who are we really to judge? The thing about same-sex marriage is that it will lead to different sins. For me, being gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender is NOT A SIN. Everyone will be attracted to the same sex at some point in their lives. However, getting in to unity with them, becoming one with the same gender is a different thing. The statement that it is a human right violation would be stupid. Education is a human right so is healthcare, so why are there still people lacking education and is dying because they are not properly taken care of. Back to the topic, If it is a human right, then give it to them. Isn’t it that easy? IT IS A RIGHT. However, marriage rites should not be given. I am not condemning homosexuals, to be honest, they are one of the best people I met, they are the most true. What I don’t like is homosexual acts.

And I will boldly say this, I am against same-sex marriage and I am against Manny Pacquiao as a senator, we do not need a senator that only gives a fuck to the government 4 times a year and in those times, what does he do? Sit. I am not saying that I am anti-LGBT, I am fully with them through the battle of equality and ironic as it is but not for same-sex marriage. Everything is permissible but not everything is beneficial.

Is this the issue that will divide us Filipinos?

Now the challenge for me, and for all of us, is to love. Love even if we do not agree with the opinion of others. Love without reservations. Love even if it means defending your own faith. Love the fullest. Love the hardest. Love should never fail. After all #LoveWins.

Leave a Reply

