The Begin Playlist

Just to end my personal struggle about the local movie: “The breakup playlist” and the Hollywood movie: “Begin Again”. I watched The breakup playlist and watched begin again, again.

To my not so surprise self, The movies have two different plot and way different story. So why do people argue about which is better. I don’t get it, honestly.

I know that the local scene has a bias about the local movies but man, again, to my surprise one local movie is as good as an international film. (Okay maybe I overrated it, but it was a great movie for me).

I have some points that both movies are great in their own way:

  • They both promote music but differently. What I like about The breakup playlist is that it promotes the local music which is for me is surviving on its own right now. They brought up different musicians to do a cameo for some scenes and it made me think that Original Pinoy Music has its place in the music industry. Generation today has taken for granted the local music scene because it is overshadowed by the international music scene. On the other side, Begin Again tells about music in general, that music is from the soul, songwriters write their songs probably because of personal reasons and some writes for the sake of business. That songs should interpret something. If it’s made for something it should not be sang differently. It tells the soul of the music itself.
  • The breakup playlist tells about two musicians’ love story in the same band and one is becoming someone in the scene and the other is envious of what she is becoming. This is what I like about the movie, yes it is a typical romantic comedy/drama but it is not the normal Filipino movie who should have love scenes in it and so much drama in it. It is a straight movie with twist and turns, which is for me what a movie should be like. Begin Again tells a story about two lovers, one is a songwriter, one is singer, and another character who has a name in the industry for producing artists who somewhat lost his way. In here, the singer got the hang of being an artist and probably forgot about the relationship between him and her girlfriend so he cheated. On the other note, the songwriter loves music so much that the producer had an eye on her and produced an album in such a unique way. Got his job back, the girl moved on, the singer realized what was wrong. In the end, they got themselves together.
  • I just saw one similarity of the movie, the movie goes from present to past, the present, to past, then present. That’s just it but overall they were both different great movies in their own way.

Probably we should not compare movies now and appreciate the art in it. Yes, there is a possibility of similarity in different movies but that’s just because people inspire people to do things. Me, I may write the same way as others do because I like the way they write. The same as movies.

Now do me a favor, be lost in the stars and start watching more movies.

Leave a Reply

